Top 20 Singles | Top 10 Albums | Album Reviews | AA Interviews | Best of 2011


Review Archives


Exile On Mainstream
Matchbox Twenty
Purchase Online
Reviewed: 10/2/2007 by Chad

Recently Reviewed:

Golden EP
Parade of Lights

Heartache Machine
Matt Hires

The Take Off and Landing of Everything

Matchbox Twenty makes their long awaited return with a new combination studio/best of CD. With the First six tracks on the CD all newly recorded songs, while the other 11 tracks are comprised of the band’s deep catalogue of hit singles. From the six unreleased tracks it’s clear that Matchbox Twenty’s sound has changed and matured over the past ten years. The aptly titled (for a greatest hits collection) “How Far We’ve Come” opens the album, followed by the Beatlesque track “I’ll Believe You When,” a song that finds the band stepping outside their typical boundaries, as does the next track “All Your Reasons,” with its driving chorus, and unique punk influenced melodies. While Rob Thomas’ vocals and lyrics are solid and unmistakable, the band clearly drew from new influences for these tracks. The latter could perhaps be from the influence of Steve Lillywhite who produced the album, a change from the band’s previous albums, which were all produced by Matt Serletic. Perhaps the most radio friendly of the new songs is “These Hard Times,” a ballad that finds Thomas’ honest song writing at its best. Also noteworthy is the upbeat “If I Fall,” that finds the band mixing tempos and layered guitars in a way not heard since they debuted ten years ago. The batch of new songs closes with “Can’t Let You Go,” a piano driven ballad that will remind fans of the band’s song “You Won’t Be Mine”. Even with all the musical growth that Matchbox Twenty shows on these six new tracks, there still remains that common thread that makes this band so appealing to so many people.

Upcoming Releases
Augustana (April 22)
Neon Trees (April 22)
Strange Talk (April 29)
Damon Albarn (April 29)
Max Collins (May 6)
Coldplay (May 19)
Saints of Valory (May 20)
Jack White (June 10)
Nico Vega (June 10)
Theory of a Deadman (April 7)

In Stores Now
Trophy Scars (April 8)
Matt Hires (April 8)
Chevelle (April 1)
The Used (April 1)
Kaiser Chiefs (April 1)
Manchester Orchestra (April 1)
Sevendust (April 1)
Dan Croll (April 1)
Band of Skulls (April 1)
Cloud Nothings (April 1)
The Hold Steady (Mar 25)
London Grammar (Mar 25)

Site Map | Facebook | Twitter | | Donate | Privacy Statement | Advertise | Contact Us
©2014 Alternative Addiction LLC