News Headlines | Upcoming Releases | Browse News Archives
Middle Class Rut Release New Video, Slated for Uproar
By: Ryan |
Source: Middle Class Rut

Print | E-Mail | Most Viewed | RSS |

 Monday, April 29, 2013

Middle Class Rut have released “Aunt Betty,” the darkly funny Texas Chainsaw Massacre-esque companion video to their new single. The clip marks the band’s third collaboration with director Lance Drake, who describes “Aunt Betty” as “the band’s most insane video to date, starring drummer Sean Stockham in an Oscar-worthy performance as Aunt Betty. It’s equally hilarious and unsettling.”

“Aunt Betty” is the first track off the band’s highly anticipated album Pick Up Your Head (Bright Antenna Records), in stores June 25th and available for pre-order on iTunes. USA Today recently dubbed “Aunt Betty” “Song of the Week,” hailing the track as a “full-on headbanger, piling massive amounts of distortion over a thunderous beat.”

Middle Class Rut (vocalist/guitarist Zack Lopez and vocalist/drummer Sean Stockham) will be performing “Aunt Betty” and previewing additional tracks from the album during their upcoming tour, which kicks off May 3 at Pub Rock in Scottsdale, AZ. On August 9th, MCR will join Alice In Chains and Jane’s Addiction on this year’s much-buzzed-about Uproar tour, which runs till mid-September (see itinerary below). The new live show will see the band amplifying its sound by adding a bassist, guitarist and percussionist.

Explains Zack, “We were talking about our touring and figuring out how to play the new songs live and realized we had two choices: either we play to a laptop loaded with tracks, which would be lame, or we bring in some guys to fill out the sound, which seemed cooler. Sean was a little reluctant at first, which then made me reluctant, but we agreed to at least try it. We road-tested it last month at SXSW and it feels good.”

Produced by the band and mixed by Grammy winning producer Dave Sardy (Johnny Cash, LCD Soundsystem, Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds), Pick Up Your Head is the follow-up to 2010’s No Name No Color, which featured the hit single "New Low," a top five hit at alternative radio, and whose video ( amassed more than 4.3 million YouTube views.

The Sacramento, CA-based MCR toured endlessly in support, sharing stages with Muse, Social Distortion, Them Crooked Vultures, Alice In Chains, 30 Seconds To Mars and Linkin Park, while drawing rave reviews from the likes of NME, the BBC, Alternative Press and Kerrang, among many others.

The band is raising the bar with Pick Up Your Head, an album Lopez says is "an evolution of a lot of ideas we had as the writing for No Name No Color was winding down. I think we exhausted what we could do in the confines of just drums/guitars/vocals. Once we embraced the idea that anything goes, the songs poured out." Stockham and Lopez have been playing together since they were teens posting up in Zack’s mom’s house in Sacramento writing and recording. Prior to the release of No Name No Color, the duo released three EPs, and in mid-2011, put out “Hurricane,” a 10-inch vinyl release featuring the band’s resplendent cover of Bob Dylan’s “Hurricane” with exclusive acoustic live versions of “New Low” and “Dead Set” (recorded at Maida Vale Studios and XFM Studios respectively) as b-sides.

    Don't miss your chance to catch Middle Class Rut live. Dates are as follows:
  • May 3rd in Scottsdale, AZ @ Pub Rock
  • May 4th in Tucson, AZ @ Kino Veteran’s Memorial Stadium (KFMA Day)
  • May 5th in Albuquerque, NM @ Isleta Amphitheater (Edgefest w/The Killers, Bad Religion, more)
  • May 6th in Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
  • May 8th in Salt Lake City, UT @ Bar Deluxe
  • May 10th in Sacramento, CA @ Cesar Chavez Plaza
  • May 16th in Baltimore, MD @ Power Plant Live (Outdoor Plaza)
  • May 18th in Pittsburgh, PA @ The Altar Bar
  • May 19th in Columbus, OH @ Columbus Crew Stadium (Rock on The Range w/Soundgarden, Alice In Chains, Bush, more)
  • May 24th in Manchester, UK @ Dot To Dot Festival
  • May 25th in Bristol, UK @ Dot To Dot Festival
  • May 26th in Nottingham, UK @ Dot To Dot Festival
  • May 28th in London, UK @ Borderline
  • July 6th in Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore Detroit (89X Birthday Bash)
  • August 9th in Scranton, PA @ Toyota Pavilion
  • August 10th in Hartford, CT @ The Comcast Theatre
  • August 11th in Darien Center, NY @ Darien Lake Performing Arts Center
  • August 13th in Saratoga Springs, NY @ Saratoga Performing Arts Center
  • August 14th in Mansfield, MA @ Comcast Center
  • August 16th in Bristow, VA @ Jiffy Lube Live
  • August 17th in Holmdel, NJ @ PNC Bank Arts Center
  • August 18th in Wantagh, NY @ Nikon At Jones Beach Theater
  • August 20th in Toronto, ON @ Molson Canadian Amphitheatre
  • August 22nd in Tinley Park, IL @ First Midwest Bank Pavilion
  • August 23rd in Noblesville, IN @ Klipsch Music Center
  • August 24th in Clarkston, MI @ DTE Energy Music Centre
  • August 27th in Oklahoma City, OK @ Zoo Amphitheater
  • August 28th in Dallas, TX @ Gexa Energy Pavilion
  • August 29th in Woodlands, TX @ Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
  • August 31st in Albuquerque, NM @ Isleta Amphitheater
  • September 1st in Englewood, CO @ Fiddler?s Green Amphitheater
  • September 2nd in Salt Lake City, UT @ USANA Amphitheatre
  • September 8th in Ridgefield, WA @ Sleep County Amphitheatre
  • September 11th in Mountain View, CA @ Shoreline Amphitheatre
  • September 13th in Phoenix, AZ @ Desert Sky Pavilion
  • September 14th in Chula Vista, CA @ Cricket Wireless Amphitheatre
  • September 15th in Irvine, CA @ Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre

More on on Alternative Addiction

News Comments


Be the first to post a comment for this news story!
Post a comment:
Comment Policy: We encourage comments and look forward to hearing from you. Please note that Alternative Addiction may, in our sole discretion, remove comments if they are off topic or inappropriate.








Gerard Way Performs 'No Shows' On Conan

Gerard Way performed the single "No Shows" on Conan, the latest to be taken off of his debut solo record "Hesitant Alien". 


Counting Crows Announce Winter Tour Dates

After releasing the highly anticipated "Somewhere Under Wonderland" album this September with a debut at #6 on the Billboard Top 200, Counting Crows will be continuing their Somewhere Under Wonderland tour this Winter with dates across the Midwest. 

New Muse Album To Feature 'Fat Bass Disto...
My Silent Bravery Releases New Video, New...
Former A Rocket to the Moon Frontman Enjo...
Colony House Carry a Big Legacy
Rival Sons Announce New Album and New U.S...
AA Podcast: Night Riots Edition
Sleeperstar Release New Song
Coming Up Denver: My Body Sings Electric
From Humble Beginnings To Walking With Giants
AA Interview: Meet The Skylit Letter
Midi Matilda Explain Retro Sound
Ben Rector Talks The Walking In Between
No Home but The Road- An interview with L...
The Uncommon Year For Not Tonight Josephine
The Next Mainstream Rock Staple: Red Line...

Search AA News

Enter Keyword Below:




Browse News Archive

Select A Month:
Select A Year:




Middle Class Rut Release New Video, Slated for Uproar
Date Published: Monday, April 29, 2013

Next: New in 2013
Date Published: Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Eddie Vedder Says New Pearl Jam Record Maybe Halfway Done
Date Published: Monday, January 07, 2013

Thousand Foot Krutch Releases Remix EP
Date Published: Wednesday, December 05, 2012

Stone Sour #1 at Active Rock Radio
Date Published: Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Site Map | Facebook | Twitter | | Donate | Privacy Statement | Advertise | Contact Us
©2014 Alternative Addiction LLC